Thoughts by the bay

Today marks the beginning of my third month in Florence. My journey is half over.

I’m embarrassed to admit it, but today was the first time I really stopped to take in the city and appreciate this moment in my life.

I spent the afternoon sitting on the bank of the Arno River for the first time. I kicked off my shoes, lay down on the cobblestone and watched reflections of the yellow buildings ripple in the blue water. An old man was fishing beside me, freeing every fish he caught. It was sunny and clear and perfect.

I couldn’t believe I had waited so long to do this, and I was annoyed at myself for spending so much time hiding from the cold in my apartment. Of course I have been experiencing plenty of incredible things, but I have also allowed the stressors of school, work, internships, scholarships and plans for my return to the States to weigh too heavily on my time here. I was nauseated by the idea that I might lose some of this experience to my worrying/planning personality.

That being said, stressing over the future ends today!

I’ll call it my belated-leap-day, halfway-through-study-abroad resolution. I know I won’t be ready to leave in May, but I especially don’t want to leave with any regrets.

Leave a Reply

